About the Southeast Michigan Urban Area Security (SEMI UASI) Initiative 

The Detroit (Southeast Michigan) Urban Area Security Initiative (UASI) consists of the geographic area that includes the City of Detroit and the counties of Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, St. Clair, Washtenaw and Wayne. The SEMI UASI protects 4.5 million Americans and approximately 300,000 Canadians living along the largest freshwater lake system in the world. The area has 211 cities, villages and townships.


The Southeast Michigan UASI Board was created in 2006 to support and enhance emergency preparedness throughout the region, state, and nation. The board has designated several standing committees and workgroups to provide guidance and assistance in designated areas:



  • Citizen Corps Council
  • Interoperable Communications Committee
  • Regional Training and Exercise Committee
Standing Workgroups
  • Critical Infrastructure Protection Workgroup
  • First Responder Workgroup


The SEMI UASI Board, working collaboratively with its standing committees, workgroups and whole community partners, develops and implements effective Homeland Security programs and strategic initiatives that provide the whole community with the resources necessary to promote a safer, more secure, and more resilient community.